Spiritus Award

Spiritus Award Announcement

Nominations are solicited for the Spiritus Award. The Spiritus Award is presented annually to a herpetologist (odd years beginning in 2017) or an ichthyologist (even years beginning in 2018).

The ASIH created the Spiritus Award to recognize excellence in service and support of natural history collections of fishes, amphibians and reptiles.

Nominations may be made by any ichthyologist or herpetologist and should be submitted by 1 January 2017 for the nominee to be eligible for the 2017 award. Nominations will be effective for three award cycles over a five-year period (due to alternation between disciplines). Committee members are not eligible for nomination while serving on the committee and for one year following.

Nominations must include the name, current address and recent CV of the nominee; letter of support expressing the nominee’s qualifications (nominator may solicit and submit additional letters of support).

To qualify, a nominee must not have been a previous recipient of the Spiritus Award, and must have an established record of exceptional management, curation, and/or administration of natural history collection(s) of fishes, amphibians and/or reptiles. Accomplishments worthy of consideration should include one or more of the following: 1) an active career in collection management and stewardship, 2) development of best practices and resources such as institutional and online databases that have significantly advanced the management, curation and dissemination of data associated with natural history collections, 3) restoration and/or significant growth of existing collections, and 4) successful advocacy for natural history collections in academia, public outreach, conservation, policy-making and/or funding. 

Email nominations to H. Bradley Shaffer, Chair (brad [dot] shaffer [at] ucla [dot] edu) or the ASIH Secretary, Prosanta Chakrabarty (ASIHsec [at] outlook [dot] com).

Please direct any question to any member of the 2017 Spiritus Award Committee: H. Bradley Shaffer, Chair (brad [dot] shaffer [at] ucla [dot] edu), Gregory Watkins-Colwell (gregory [dot] watkins-colwell [at] yale [dot] edu), Mark Sabaj (sabaj [at] ansp [dot] org).

rattlesnake in a tree
coral snake