Henry S. Fitch Award for Excellence in Herpetology

Fitch Award Announcement

Nominations are solicited for the Henry S. Fitch Award for Excellence in Herpetology from the American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists. The prize is awarded to an individual for long-term excellence in the study of amphibian and/or reptile biology, based principally on the quality of the awardee’s research; consideration is also given to educational and service impacts of the individual’s career. Nominations are encouraged for any herpetologist and should include the nominee’s curriculum vitae and details of the nominee’s specific contributions and impacts on herpetology.

The award is presented at the plenary session held in conjunction with the annual JMIH and includes a cash prize and certificate.

Nominations, including self-nominations, should be submitted by 1 March for the nominee to be eligible for that year’s award. These nominations will be effective for three years. The nomination should be e-mailed to the Chair of the 2018 Fitch Award Committee, Dr. Robert Espinoza (robert [dot] e [dot] espinoza [at] csun [dot] edu).

Fitch Award List

  • 2017: Henry Mushinsky
  • 2016: George Zug
  • 2015: Patrick T. Gregory
  • 2014: Marvalee H. Wake
  • 2013: Roy W. McDiarmid
  • 2012: Jonathan A. Campbell
  • 2011: Raymond D. Semlitsch
  • 2010: Thomas W. Schoener
  • 2009: R. Bruce Bury
  • 2008: Stevan Arnold
  • 2007: Edmund D. Brodie, Jr.
  • 2006: J. Whitfield Gibbons
  • 2005: Margaret M. Stewart
  • 2004: Harry W. Greene
  • 2003: Richard Shine
  • 2002: Robert F. Inger
  • 2000: Jay M. Savage
  • 1999: David B. Wake
  • 1998: A. Stanley Rand
Western Cottonmouth in a defensive posture
coiled timber rattlesnake, Crotalus horridus
Potamotrygon motoro
rattlesnake in a tree